Interviews

ISABELLE’S INTERVIEW

HI I AM ISABLLE, I LIVE IN GEORGIA AND AM A HOMESCHOOLER.

(Red is interviewer Blue is interviewed person)

Who do you live with?

Live with my mom and my dad, my little brother and our dog.

How long have you home schooled? 

I started in 3rd grade, so 3 years now.

What made you switch to HS?

We were going to a private school and first we went to public school but I hated it.

My mom started working as an English teacher at a private school but they were way behind. I was doing K math in 2nd grade

My mom quit her job at the end of the year and we started homeschooling.

Another reason is I’m a weirdo nerd and so at public and private school I was getting teased and people were being mean, my brother has add and ADHD which doesn’t help.

It took me a long time to learn how to do fractions, like way longer than the average kid. Being home-schooled is good because of that flexibility…

Whats your favorite subject?

SCIENCE SCIENCE SCIENCE!

Another good reason to HW… I have an 11th grade reading level so if I was in a gr 5 classroom I’d be so bored.

What do you like to read?

Wonder, HP, Little Women.

What’s your favorite thing to do?

Either read or play piano or play outside.

During the day I’m always freezing but I get hot at night.

What kind of foods can you cook?

Mac’n’cheese, green beans, mashed potato, brownies, and cookies.

…I can cook a lot!

Potatoes from scratch or packet?

From scratch for beans and potatoes. Sometimes mac’n’cheese from a box but sometimes we make homemade sauce.

We eat organic whenever we can.

What types of books do you like? history? fantasy?

Adventure, mysteries, fantasy, historical fiction.

Little women is my first lifestyle genre style and I’m liking it a lot.

Do you write stories?

I’m writing a short story right now, after school just for fun, cause I’m doing narratives right now. I’m writing a creative writing narrative and I’m going to continue it as a short story later.

I love the 2nd DH movie and the DH book. I also really love the goblet of fire.

Do you like drawing or art?

Umm… I like art but I LOVE music!

I can play piano, I’m working on learning harmonica.

I want to play violin, clarinet, chello…

I’m learning recorded too.

Teachers other than parents?

My mom is my only teacher.

She sets up an organizer for me and so everyday I just check the organizer and do what she sets up. If I need help I ask her.

Are you religious at all?

Not really. I mean we live in Georgia and Georgia is kinda religious. Umm… we’re Christians but we don’t stay at church like most people do.

We go to a non denominational church too.

Our church doesn’t do Wednesday night dinners either.

We go on Sunday mornings.

We don’t do Sunday school, we go in and do a physical challenge. They call people up on the stage to do things like, um the last one was…

I did one on Easter.  You got on a booty scooter thing and they put Easter eggs all over the stage.  It was girls VS boys.  They add up points at the end of the month to see if the boys or girls win.  We have a floor dedicated to kids. It’s a very big church.

Do you like going?

I love it, it’s so fun.  We don’t dress up for church, most people don’t.  we pray at the beginning of every meal and go to church every Sunday but I’m not quoting the bible in conversations.

Is JKR your favorite writer?

Probably yeah, either her or CS Lewis or Louisa May Alcott.

If you could take a vacation where would you go?

Probably the mountains.


ERIS INTERVIEW

GERMANY

In Germany it’s a little colder, and wetter. Germany doesn’t allow home schooling. Jobs require a high level of education. There school starts at 8 and ends at 1:30 PM. School from Eris’s house is 10 km away from school. The time deference is 8 hours. They have German class on Wednesday, then natural science. They do research at the end of school. 
Winter, fall and Easter break are all only 2 weeks long.

ERIS

“My favorite class is English because I already know it. ” – Eris. Eris is doing electricity in science. Eris has gone to america 4-5 times. There going to Portugal, and have gone to Denmark. Eris likes to travel because it’s fun to see what people like to do in “Wherever”. 
“I take public transportation.  I take a normal bus. We don’t have those yellow school buses. “- Eris. 
The time difference means that to do this interview, Eris had to stay up late!  
German Foods : Sausages that sometimes pop open.

We dont eat peanut butter and jelly in Germany and no marshmallow fluff.

We got to the beach in denmark and usually rent a house. Sometimes it takes 2 hours to drive, sometimes 4 or 5 hours.

CATTYWAMPUS

“The definition of cattywampus, often spelled catawampus, is not lined up or not arranged correctly, or diagonally. An example of something cattywampus are the positions of the items on the top of a coffee table after a two year old has been playing with them” – YourDictionary.com

Ä, Ö, Ü, S

Letters used in German, but not in English.


Kenzie Q’n’A

Have you ever made something from old clothes? Kenzie did when she created this outfit for ecouture show.

Spotlight on waste, especially clothing and fabric waste.

Checkout this exclusive interview with Kenzie one of the shows youngest designers

Why did you put hearts on your shirt? Why not.

Why did you enter it? Because we reused clothes.

Where did the inspiration for this outfit come from? My grandma.

Where did you make your outfit? My grandmas house.

How much did you like your outfit from 1-10? 10 its my favorite.

How did you make it? I used a sewing machine.

How long did it take? A few weeks.

How did your grandma help you (if she did)? Yes a lot.

How did you chose your materials? Softest clothing.

When did you start making this outfit ? February not till April.

When did you have the time to make it? Weekend.

Who helped you make the outfit or did you do it yourself? Grandma and my Sister.

Who helped you (if anyone) ? Grandma and Sister.

What did you learn from them? How to do a blanket stitch

Advertisements